top of page

My New Year's Resolution- ME

With the week I had earlier in December I figured out that if I don't take care of myself how can I expect me to take care of my children or my marriage? This is my big ah ha moment in parenting.... and in adulthood! Great realization right?!?!?! Now how am I going to take care of myself? What do I need? I talked with my husband and we both agreed we needed some date nights and some times that we could individually go out with friends. So we agreed that we would plan on once a month getting a sitter for a date night. We also agreed that we would each get one night a month as a night/day out with friends. I reached out to a couple of friends for suggestions on sitters. My parents are great with the kids but with later nights its harder for them to get back home and sometimes the weather isn't the greatest. They live pretty far away too so it would be nice to have someone near by. My best friend has been great about watching our oldest when we needed but the woman has 3 kids of her own and her husband is currently living in Boston due to work so I don't want to depend on her all the time. So we started contacting the sitters recommended so we could build our own village to help us out.

But i kept thinking what am i going to do for ME? I had started an online diary and began to think about making it into a blog..... I don't really know what I want to come of it but I hope maybe somewhere down the road it helps someone! I love being able to write and get my thoughts out so having someone relate or maybe find a way to help themselves or their family would just be icing on the cake for me. So I started working on the site and turning my diary into a blog.... and here we are!!!

Next I was going to work on keeping myself at a lower stress level.... I found this interesting idea of a Bullet Journal and did some research. I did a organize your life challenge for a few weeks in December which really helped to highlight priorities and what to keep in mind with organizing yourself. The biggest tip i took from that was doing a Brain dump.... I was reading more about brain dumps and found this bullet journal! I used my Christmas money and purchased my supplies. I am anxiously awaiting for my package so I can start my journal. My first few pages will be for my on going Brain Dumps.....A space where you can just list everything you want or need to get down or need to remember. It's the first thing I do each day at work now and the last thing I do before bed. .... I swear if my youngest ever starts sleeping doing the Brain Dump will help me get better sleep. But until my child sleeps longer than 2 hours i don't won't know for sure.

So those are my first attempts to take care of myself! I have left it open though to adjust and add other ideas as the year goes on. I mean we are always growing and changing so I can't see how a set in stone resolution would be beneficial especially for a woman who has a police officer husband that can have things pop up whenever and 2 boys under the age 2. I kind of have to live life by the motto of being flexible!!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page